Shortlist announced for Homes for Scotland Awards 2015

Mike Galloway
Mike Galloway

THE shortlist for Scotland’s premier home building industry awards has been announced as trade body Homes for Scotland gears up for its largest ever ceremony celebrating the sector’s achievements.

Focusing on the theme of “Foundations for the Future”, this year’s awards seek to recognise the efforts that have been made to ensure the strongest possible platform for sustained recovery within the new build market.

A list of companies and individuals that made the judges’ first cut can be found here.

Winners will be announced at the Homes for Scotland Annual Lunch (sponsored by Burness Paull) at the EICC on Friday 15 May at which Alex Neil, Cabinet Secretary with responsibility for housing, planning and Building Standards will provide the keynote address.

850 industry representatives and their guests are confirmed to attend the event, which sold out almost two months in advance and is the largest gathering of its kind in the Scottish home building calendar.

In addition to the above listed categories, the independent judging panel, chaired by Mike Galloway, Director of City Development at Dundee City Council, will decide upon the winner of the prestigious Home Builder of the Year.

Recognising the individuals championing the aims of the home building industry in Scotland, the Homes for Scotland Executive Committee will consider the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement award (sponsored by Ground Developments).

Mike Galloway said,“Whilst it is clear that the sector continues to face a number of tough challenges to recovery, it is encouraging to note the wide-ranging examples of commitment to overcoming these barriers in order to achieve the collective aim of delivering enough homes in the right locations across the country.

“The judges sought to highlight those companies and individuals showcasing high levels of innovation, creativity and excellence in their approaches to the delivery of quality housing, customer care and employee benefits and I look forward to seeing the worthy winners recognised at the awards ceremony in May.”