Homes for Scotland announces 2022 awards shortlist


HOMES for Scotland (HFS) has announced the shortlist for its 2022 awards programme.

With last year seeing an amalgamated 2020/21 shortlist and virtual awards due to pandemic restrictions, updates to 2022 categories include a focus on the transition to net zero within the Innovation of the Year category – designed to showcase examples of innovation as the sector contributes to a national commitment of net zero emissions by 2045.

In a further change, no prior shortlist has been released for the Associate Member of the Year category, with members of the HFS senior management team asked to nominate candidates who have gone the extra mile, engaging with the organisation’s work and providing support to other members.

The independent judging panel will be undertaking site visits to all those shortlisted in the Development of the Year categories alongside corresponding online interviews to determine who will take one of three headline Home Builder of the Year awards. Those shortlisted under the Innovation of the Year (Transition to Net Zero) category will also be invited to an online interview.

Winners will be revealed at the Homes for Scotland Annual Lunch at the EICC on Friday 20 May, which will be hosted by impressionist and comedian Jon Culshaw. Over 900 industry representatives and guests are already confirmed to attend.

Chair of the judging panel David Knight, former MD at Avant Homes, said, “I was delighted to be asked to Chair this year’s refreshed judging panel and have been hugely impressed by the demonstrations of “going above and beyond” which have been evident throughout the entries received. Whether that be examples of innovation, diversity, sustainability measures or meeting customer needs, HFS members have shown their commitment to delivering high quality places for people to live during what remain difficult circumstances.

“With the judges now set to embark on the site visit and interview stage of the process, I am very much looking forward to seeing these submissions come to life and to the difficult task of deciding upon the winners.”

The companies making the judges’ first cut are as follows:

Development of the Year – large (100+ units) 

  • Barratt and David Wilson Homes – The Strand, Edinburgh
  • CCG (with South Lanarkshire Council hub South West) – Whitlawburn Regeneration, Glasgow
  • Link Group & McTaggart Construction – Riverside Dalmarnock, Glasgow
  • Places for People – Chapelton, Aberdeenshire
  • Springfield Properties – Bertha Park, Perth
  • Stewart Milne Group – Dunnottar Park, Stonehaven

Development of the Year – medium (26-99 units)

  • CALA Homes (East) – Boroughmuir Phase 2, Edinburgh 
  • CCG (with City of Edinburgh Council) – Bingham Avenue, Edinburgh
  • Cruden Homes (East) – Bonnington Mill, Edinburgh
  • Lovell Partnerships – Claish Farm, Stirlingshire
  • Westpoint Homes – One Hyndland Avenue, Glasgow
  • Whiteburn Projects – Caerlee Mill Phase 2, Innerleithen

Development of the Year – small (up to 25 units)

  • Cruden Homes (East) – Muirwood Gardens Phase 1, Kinross
  • Hadden Homes – Glenluie Green, Perthshire
  • Panacea Homes – The Primary, Glasgow
  • Rural Renaissance – Darnick Green, Melrose

Innovation of the Year (Transition to Net Zero)

  • Barratt Developments – The Z House
  • Pixel – Online selection systems
  • Stewart Milne Group with Barratt Developments and Forster Group – AIMCH Project

 Associate Member of the Year 

  • Winner announced at the HFS Annual Lunch, with no prior shortlist released