First Minister announces new cabinet line-up

(Image: Lennystan, Shutterstock)

FIRST Minister Nicola Sturgeon has announced her new Scottish Government cabinet line-up following the recent election.

Upon announcing the roles, she said that there is a ‘pressing need’ to take forward the country’s net zero agenda as part of global efforts to secure a greener future – with Michael Matheson being named as the cabinet secretary for net zero, energy and transport.

Mr Matheson’s new role brings together cross government responsibility for coordination of net zero policy, encompassing transport, environmental protection, energy and COP26 delivery.

Kate Forbes takes on an expanded brief as cabinet secretary for finance and the economy – including responsibility for the Scottish budget, fiscal policy and taxation, economic strategy, the wellbeing economy, trade and inward investment, city and regional growth deals, enterprise and the digital economy.

Shirley-Anne Somerville becomes cabinet secretary for education and skills. She will take forward work on the Covid-19 recovery within the education system, as well as continuing the Scottish Government’s mission to further close the attainment gap.

Shona Robison is appointed as cabinet secretary for social justice, housing and local government, tasked with reducing child poverty as well as work to deliver 100,000 affordable homes.

Commenting on the new cabinet line-up, Nicola Sturgeon said, “Scotland needs a serious government for the serious times we face as a nation, and in the top level ministerial line-up I have announced today we have exactly that. It is a government which will drive Scotland forward, as we look to build a just, fair and sustainable recovery from the Covid pandemic.

“My cabinet team combines experience with new arrivals and fresh faces, giving us the range and depth of talent we need to tackle the pressing issues we need to tackle, from Covid to climate change.”

Other changes see Humza Yousaf become cabinet secretary for health and social care; Keith Brown, cabinet secretary for justice; Mairi Gougeon, cabinet secretary for rural affairs and islands; Angus Robertson, cabinet secretary for the constitution, external affairs and culture.