Scottish property achievements celebrated at digital ceremony

THE achievements of Scotland’s property sector in the face of Covid-19 challenges have been celebrated at a digital awards ceremony.

The 8th annual Scottish Property Awards, broadcast live from Glasgow to over 300 registered users, highlighted the best new projects across the country.

The top award went to Edinburgh-based Qmile Group, which has been progressing work on its £350 million Haymarket Edinburgh development. Baillie Gifford had agreed a pre-let of 280,000 sq ft of the office accommodation.

The Business Leadership Award was presented to Dan Macdonald, co-founder of Macdonald Estates. He was commended for his work developing major regeneration projects and for his personal efforts to improve understanding of the economic impact of commercial property in Scotland. He created the Scottish Property Development Forum 12 years ago which led to the creation of the Scottish Property Federation.

The Outstanding Achievement Award went to the NHS Louisa Jordan Hospital development team. The £38 million project, led by Balfour Beatty, resulted in the delivery of a temporary facility under pressured timescales in response to the pandemic. The new Elgin and Appin Ward at Stobhill Mental Health Estate won Healthcare Development of the Year.

The Deal of the Year category was won by the deal team which secured Baillie Gifford at The Haymarket.

The 2021 Winners in Full were as follows:

Property Company of the Year , sponsored by Wolffe: Qmile  Group

Deal of the Year , sponsored by PMP : The Haymarket, Edinburgh. Pre-let to Baillie Gifford; QMile, JLL, Savills, M&G Real Estate, Ryden.

Regeneration Project of the Year , sponsored by Bruce Stevenson Insurance Brokers  : Perth Creative Exchange;  Perth & Kinross Council

Health Care Development of the Year , sponsored by  Addleshaw  Goddard : Elgin and Appin Ward, Stobhill Mental Health Estate; NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde, hub West Scotland,  Keppie  Design

Development of the Year (Public Buildings)  : Inverurie Community Campus;  hub North Scotland,  Aberdeenshire Council,  Robertson,  Halliday Fraser Munro

Development of the Year (Commercial Buildings)  : King’s Stables Road,  Edinburgh; Peveril Securities and Campus DM, Fletcher Joseph, Bowmer and Kirkland

Architectural Excellence Award (Commercial Use) : Clydesdale Community Hub, South Lanarkshire;  Grant Murray Architects

Architectural Excellence Award (Public Use) : The Inverness Justice Centre;  Reiach  and Hall Architects

Business Resilience Award, sponsored by Scottish Property Federation: Halliday Fraser Munro

Financial Support Team of the Year : The Royal Bank of Scotland

Industrial Team of the Year , sponsored by Peace Recruitment  : Colliers International

Office Agency Team of the Year : JLL

Investment Agency Team of the Year : Lismore Real Estate

Outstanding Achievement in Partnership,  sponsored by  Addleshaw  Goddard : NHS Louisa Jordan; NHS Scotland, Balfour Beatty, Graham, Kier, Robertson and Keppie Design

Business Leadership Award,  sponsored by Bank of Scotland: Dan Macdonald