RIAS/RIBA Awards shortlist revealed

Bertha Park High. Image credit: Keith Hunter

A new high school in Perth, a hospice in Glasgow, and a sports centre in Inverclyde are included on an 18-strong shortlist for the RIAS/RIBA Awards for Scotland 2020.

From 80 entries, the list has been whittled down to 18 buildings, with judging due to take place at the end of March.

Winners will be announced at a dinner at the Assembly Rooms, Edinburgh on May 28. The RIBA National Awards will be announced in June.

Sustainability is a key feature on many of the projects. Jenny Jones, chair of the RIAS Awards judging panel and founding director and architect at Studio Jenny Jones said, “Given that these projects would have been commissioned at the very least, several years ago, there are some very strong carbon-conscious submissions which demonstrate an attention to the challenges we all face. The greater shift will become evident in the next years if we continue to challenge and create innovative responses as to how we can ‘build’ with environmental consciousness.”

The Prince & Princess of Wales Hospice, Glasgow. Image credit: Keith Hunter

Joining Jenny on the judging panel this year will be Tony Chapman (former head of awards at RIBA and freelance architecture critic, representing the Royal Institute of British Architects), Brian McGinlay (founding director and architect at McGinlay Bell), and Ann Allen (chair of Architecture & Design Scotland).

Nick Ribbons (sector manager – construction at Zero Waste Scotland), Joann Russell (head of estates conservation directorate at Historic Environment Scotland) and Steven Robb (deputy head of casework, heritage directorate at Historic Environment Scotland) were also involved in the shortlisting discussions.

sportscotland National Sports Training Centre, Inverclyde. Image credit: Reiach & Hall

The shortlist, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Aberdeen Art Gallery (Hoskins Architects for Aberdeen City Council)

Altarf, Isle of Skye (Ann Nisbet Studio for a private client)

An Cala, Sutherland (Mary Arnold-Forster Architects for a private client)

Bayes Centre, Edinburgh (Bennetts Associates for University of Edinburgh)

Bertha Park High School, Perth (NORR Consultants Limited for Perth & Kinross Council)

Dunira Street Housing, Glasgow (Elder & Cannon Architects for Tollcross Housing Association)

Edinburgh Printmakers (Page\Park Architects for Edinburgh Printmakers)

The Egg Shed, Argyll and Bute (Oliver Chapman Architects for Scottish Canals)

Faithlie Centre, Aberdeenshire (Moxon Architects Ltd with Alan S Marshall Conservation Architect for Aberdeenshire Council)

Global Research Innovation and Discovery (GRID) (Sheppard Robson Architects for Heriot-Watt University)

The Hill House Box, Helensburgh (Carmody Groarke for National Trust for Scotland)

King’s Stables Road, Mixed-Use Development (Fletcher Joseph Associates for Peveril Securities and Campus DM)

Kyle House, Sutherland (Groves-Raines Architects Studios Ltd for a private client)

Maidenhill Primary School & Nursery, East Renfrewshire (BDP for East Renfrewshire Council) 

Maryhill Locks, Glasgow (jmarchitects for Bigg Regeneration Limited)

The Prince & Princess of Wales Hospice, Glasgow (Ryder Architecture for The Prince & Princess of Wales Hospice)

sportscotland National Sports Training Centre, Inverclyde (Reiach and Hall Architects for sportscotland)

Watt Institution, Greenock (Collective Architecture for Inverclyde Council)