SELECT Awards finalists named

Last year’s awards

THE finalists have been announced for this year’s SELECT Awards, which take place in Glasgow on October 13.

Categories include Contractor of the Year, Apprentice of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement prize. A new category has been added this year – electrical wholesaler Apprentice of the Year. The award is being promoted by the Electrical Distributors’ Association (EDA).

Newell McGuiness, SELECT managing director said, “SELECT aims for the highest standards of professionalism and workmanship. It believes that the industry should ensure professional standards of safety and competence so that customers can rely on any electrician he or she may employ.

“Electricians are dedicated, hard-working people and it is our honour to turn the spotlight on them and remind the rest of the world of how important they are to our continued economic success.”

This year’s sponsors include The SJIB, Edmundson Electrical, Scolmore Group, City Electrical Factors, Electrical Distributors’ Association, EC Insurance, Schneider Electric, Blue Sky Pensions, Voltimum, Electrical Safety First, Megger and Ross Electrical.

The nominees are:

Best Delivery of Customer Service 

  • AKD Systems Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Crown House Technologies (Motherwell)
  • Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Kenneth Ferguson (Oban)

 Best Use of Training

  • AKD Systems Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Servest Arthur McKay Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Richard Irvin Energy Solutions (Aberdeen)

Best Visual Promotion

  • AKD Systems Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Alba Facilities Services Ltd (Glasgow)
  • Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Invincible Security Ltd (Ardrossan)

Best Electrical Safety Project

  • Crown House Technologies (Motherwell)
  • Edmiston Brown & Co Ltd (Glasgow)
  • Select Electrical and Mechanical Services Ltd (Dumfries)

Best Small Contractor

  • ATD Electrical Services (Kirkcowan)
  • EAL Electrical¬† Ltd (Grantown-on-Spey)
  • Interlink Lighting and Electrical (Glasgow)
  • Kenneth Ferguson (Oban)

The Electrical Contractor of the Year, Apprentice of the Year and a special Lifetime Achievement award for services to the trade will also be made at the ceremony.