Chairman of national trade body hands over reins

PCA Chief Executive, Stephen Hodgson and Les Meikle of Wise Property Care
PCA Chief Executive, Stephen Hodgson and Les Meikle of Wise Property Care

A key figure in the Scottish business community has completed his term of office as chairman of a national trade body

Les Meikle has finished a three-year term at the Property Care Association (PCA). During this time he has overseen major success at the trade body, which represents the UK’s structural repair sector, structural waterproofing, wood preservation, damp-proofing, flood remediation and invasive weed control industries.

PCA Chief Executive, Stephen Hodgson, who has worked closely with Les,  paid tribute to his input at the PCA’s Annual General Meeting, held at The Moller Centre, University of Cambridge. Stephen said, “It’s been an absolute privilege working with Les. His professionalism, knowledge and support has ensured the PCA has grown and thrived under his stewardship.Les has given his time freely to help the PCA and we are immensely grateful.”

Well-respected throughout the Scottish business community, as well as the construction and building preservation industry nationwide, last year Les was presented with a rare honour when he was  made a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors – becoming one of very few outside its traditional membership to achieve this recognition.

Les is also a director to the board of The Entrepreneurial Exchange and mentors businesses under the Scottish Enterprise scheme, as well as secondary school pupils.

Les said, “I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working with the team at the PCA. I’ll continue to work as a member of the board and support the Association as much as possible. It’s been a great three years.”

As well as marking the end of his term as Chairman of the PCA, Les also celebrated success at the Association’s annual awards, held after the AGM at Girton College, University of Cambridge.

Les whose own business, Wise Property Care, is based in Barrhead, took the website of the year title for its site