European design awards launched

ENTRIES are now open for the 2015 European Copper in Architecture Awards. A celebration of contemporary architecture and showcase for architects designing with copper and its alloys, the final deadline for receipt of entries is 20th April 2015.

Dolomitenblick apartment block. Photograph: Hertha Hurnaus.
Dolomitenblick apartment block. Photograph: Hertha Hurnaus

With a record 82 entries in 2013, the biennial awards programme continues to grow in stature. Displaying exemplary and innovative uses of copper in modern design, the competition also showcases the best architectural projects throughout Europe, often highlighting previously unrecognised work.

All entries must either incorporate cladding, roofing, or other architectural work with copper or copper alloys and judging will be based upon the overall architectural qualities of the project. From major landmark buildings to modest installations, any scale and project type is valid for entry.

A panel of architects and critics, including some of the most influential designers in Europe, will judge the entries on the architectural qualities of their graphic submissions.

Seinäjoki public library. Photograph: Mika Huisman.
Seinäjoki public library. Photograph: Mika Huisman

Shortlisted projects will be announced and promoted in June 2015, with the opportunity for people to vote for the Public Choice Award via Commended projects, the Public Choice Winner and the Overall Winner will be announced at an event later in the year. All shortlisted and winning projects will also receive widespread publication and promotion to an international audience.

The Awards Entry Form can be downloaded at, where information and images from previous Awards can also be viewed.